In 1984 a group of like-minded visionaries headed by Shri.R.L.Jalappa, Champion of Co-operative movement of Karnataka established Sri Devaraj Urs Educational Trust for Backward Classes to focus on Medical Education and Social Service. The trust was started at Sri Devaraj Urs Medical College, Tamaka, Kolar in 1986.

The trust sought to make a significant contribution to Medical Education, Research, and Health Care to the Rural population. The College is situated in Tamaka village (abutting National Highway No.75), 5 K.M from Kolar Town, Karnataka. Kolar is well connected by road, rail, and air due to its proximity to Bengaluru, which is 75 K.M away. The nearest Railway Junction, Bangarpet is 15 K.M away from Kolar.

The Trust got inspired to apply for Deemed University status for the college in the name and style of Sri Devaraj Urs Academy of Higher Education and Research .The University Grants Commission of India conducted an inspection in April 2007 and after being satisfied with the infrastructure and teaching facilities, recommended to the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India to confer Deemed to be University status to this Medical College. Accordingly, the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India conferred deemed to be university status to the Medical College on 25th May 2007.

The trust sought attainment of quality in education and health care services to its stakeholder by obtaining Accreditation by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC, INDIA) and certification by ISO 9001-2000 in the year 2006 for its Medical College. Subsequently the Hospital Laboratory Services obtained Accreditation of National. Accreditation Board of Laboratories (NABL) in the year and the Teaching Hospital The R L Jalappa Hospital & Research Center obtained Accreditation of The National Accreditation Board for Hospitals (NABH) in 2022 Currently, the deemed university comprises the medical college. Steps are in progress for the inclusion of R L Jalappa Institute of Technology, Kodigehally, Doddaballapura (off campus), and Sri Devaraj Urs College of Nursing, Kolar (on-campus) under the ambit of the deemed to be the university. Since its inception in 2007, the University has added on several academic and administrative departments befitting to its functioning.


University of Excellence – Knowledge For Posterity


To be a global center of excellence for Teaching, Training, and Research in the field of Higher Education. To inculcate scientific temper, research attitude, and social accountability among faculty and students. To promote value-based education for the overall personality development and leadership qualities to serve humanity.

The Founder

R L Jalappa

The First President of the University Sri.R.L.Jalappa, who has been the Founder & present Chairman of Sri DevarajUrs Educational Trust (SDUET), for the past 25 years is an outspoken politician, educationist and leader of co-operative movement. Today under his leadership Sri DevarajUrs Educational Trust has 8 Institutions in which more than 500 dedicated, motivated faculties are serving and over 4500 students have enrolled for various courses from kindergarten to post doctoral courses, in traditional, technical and medical educational Institutions.

G H Nagaraja

President & Chancellor